Online Applications Now Available
In order to serve you as efficiently as we can, you can now complete your marriage application online, prior to coming into our office. Simply type in the all of the requested information and then “submit”. You will then have a confirmation screen that provides you a confirmation number.
BRING THIS CONFIRMATION NUMBER with you to our office for final processing, along with the required documents as described in "Marriage LIcense Requirements" shown below. We will not issue Marriage Licenses without the proper documentation. NO EXCEPTIONS!
For the ONLINE APPLICATION, please type in ALL CAPS and enter names as they appear on the birth certificates. For places of birth, the STATE name only is needed.
There is a 24 hour (1 day) waiting period from the time the license is issued until it can be used. If a couple wishes to be married within that 24 hour waiting period, a waiver signed by a Judge must be presented to perform the ceremony. Additionally, the license expires 30 days from the date and time of issuance. Licenses are issued between 8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, except for legal holidays.
FEES: $35.00 in cash, check money order or debit/credit card. This fee includes your application, and a certified copy of the marriage license.
A certified copy of the marriage license will be necessary if one of the parties wishes to change their name with Social Security and on their driver’s license. After the ceremony has taken place, the license must then be filed with the Clerk of Court’s Office. Once filed with the Clerk, the certified copy of the marriage license will be issued to the couple. If an additional certified copy of the marriage license is required by the parties, it can be purchased at the Clerk of Court’s Office for $6.
Marriage License Requirements
Pursuant to applicable Louisiana Statutes, only one party is required to come in to purchase the marriage license. The applying party must provide the below-listed documentation FOR BOTH PARTIES:
- If from Louisiana, an original / certified birth certificate or birth card from the Louisiana State Vital Registry (a hospital souvenir certificate does not qualify).
- If from another state, an original / certified birth certificate under the raised seal or stamp of the vital statistics registration authority of the place of birth.
- If a naturalized citizen, a Certificate of Naturalization (a copy must be retained by the Clerk of Court).
- If a foreign birth certificate, there must be provided a certified English translation.
- In the event a birth certificate cannot be provided, a letter signed by the proper registration authority, under raised seal or stamp advising that no birth certificate is on file can be submitted in lieu of the birth certificate.
- If the applicant cannot provide a letter of no record of birth, a Judge or Justice of the Peace may waive the requirement to provide a birth certificate by written order.
- Social Security numbers must be provided or a statement by the applicable party that no Social Security number has been issued. The statement of no Social Security number form is available in our office.
- If applicable, must present proof of termination of prior marriage (judgment of divorce or death certificate). If foreign divorce or death certificate, there must be provided a certified English translation.
Note: If born in Louisiana, our offices are able to provide birth certificates for the associated fees.
Applicants under 18 years of age
- Both parents must sign consent forms and bring proof of their identity in the form of a state-issued driver’s license or state-issued identification card.
- If one parent has full custody, that parent must come in to sign a consent form, bring their proof of identity along with a certified copy of custody papers showing full custody. Joint custody requires both parent’s consent.
- Applicants under 16 and 17 years of age also require a judge’s consent in addition to parents consent.
- Applicants under 16 and 17 years of age cannot marry someone three (3) years or more older.
- Applicants under 16 years of age cannot get married in Louisiana.
Covenant Marriage Requirements
Same as above with following additional requirement:
- If applying for a covenant marriage, applicants must also bring the original notarized Declaration of Intent and Affidavit with attestation from their counselor.